RSS

African- American Cemetery

23 Oct
September 16, 2013

The second day of my trip I visited the
PATTERSON MEMORIAL CEMETERY A.K.A SHIELD'S CEMETERY, the 
African-American 
cemetery in Patterson Louisiana.Located off of HWY 182,
turn on William St.,near the end of William is the cemetery on O 
street.

Grave Mcclennen
 MCCLENNAN SCHEXNAYDER
 Birth 2 Feb 1867 in Pattersonville, Louisiana
 Death 10 JUL 1947 in Patterson, Louisiana

McClennan Schexnayder is my great-grand uncle and the son of Vilmont 
Schexnayder. His wife Dolly Thomas Robinson is buried next to him.

 DOLLY SCHEXNAYDER
 Born July 20 1866 Death Dec. 16 1969

  Grave dolly



 Louis Schexnayder 
 Born 4 Jul 1875  Death:1940                 
 Vilmont's son.

 graves louis

 The below pictures is the wide view of the cemetery, that I had to 
walk through to find my ancestors. In Louisiana the caskets are placed
above the ground due to water content in the soil which would make 
the coffin come out of the ground on its own.
                      grave1  
                      grave2
                      grave 3

     If the family want to keep the family together and there is
 no plots nearby, the next best thing is to....
                       grave ferreletine
 The bottom casket is my grand-aunt Glennie Davis Henderson (My great 
grandmother Julia Schexnayder's daughter) and the
top is Glennie's daughter Ferrelltine Henderson Bartley.
Grave glennie              graveferrgrave4

 Here is an example of a grave that was buried in the ground, I am 
sure the graves of Vilmont and Julia Schexnayder were buried in the 
ground and got destroyed as others did as well.
                             grave5


I love to Google, I had Google either African-American Cemetery or 
Black cemetery in Patterson Louisiana and I found out that Melissa 
Hutton had actually listed all the readable headstones or had obtain 
the list of the readable headstone and placed it on usaarchives.net

Submitter: MELISSA HUTTON
Date: Sep., 2004
http://files.usgwarchives.net/la/stmary/cemeteries/patterson2004.txt 

                                  Day 2 was a great day
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “African- American Cemetery

  1. chmjr2

    October 23, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I found this post to be very interesting. Thanks for posting.

     
  2. LindaRe

    October 26, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    Cemeteries are good places to visit to obtain additional family information. Good pictures of the cemetery.

     
  3. Stephani

    October 30, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Thank you Linda!!

     
  4. RV Schexnayder

    November 19, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    Comments Oops! An error occured. Please try again later.
    Hi Steph. I just wanted to add my little adventure to the same place (my first time) back in April. Remember, I called you by cell to get directions (and connections to stop and eat. lol)… rvschex1 (ancestry.com) Hunting Forebears at Patterson: 20 Apr 2013 Patterson, St. Mary Parish, Louisiana – A trip through St. Mary Parish led me to explore the final resting place of Vilmore Schexnayder and his descendants. This was my usual scenic route from Gretna to Lafayette – for this trip the State Conference for the Knights of Peter Claver. The travel on elevated highway 90 slicing through picturesque cypress bayous brings one through Berwick Bay, the setting of a major Civil War Battle in Louisiana (perhaps Vilmore participated in this battle in his Union Army company) and the home area of Clarence Jupiter’s family related through the Alexis’ of Vacherie. The oddest sight along the way is the “Black Bear Crossing” sign at Patterson. The sign kind of startled me the first time I saw it, but I’ve yet to see a bear crossing. So, today’s hunting forebears was quite appropriate, I’d say! After several trips through the area, I had yet to veer into Patterson to see the sights. The only thing I knew of Patterson was that St. James used to play them in high school play off games – memories weren’t that great – they used to win most of the time (must be the residual St. John Parish blood that Vilmore and Virginia brought with them!) I became more aware of the area once cuzzin Stephanie Miller and her branch made a side trip to Patterson and the former Calumet Plantation site to see relatives during the 2011 reunion of AFAM Schexnayders. While crossing the Calumet place marker on the way home, I called Stephanie on her cell phone and left the following message: “Call back if you get this in a few minutes – I’m passing through Patterson and need to know who to stop by and get something to eat or need to find where Vilmore lies – if you don’t call soon, I will blank and Patterson will be passed up. lol”. With no call back, I veered off the beaten path into Patterson proper. Not knowing where I was going, I used gps, instinct and adventure. After spelling “Calumet” in the gps, you would have thought that as popular as Calumet Baking Powder once was, it would give me a hint. none. My next thought was to retrieve the family information from Chandler Schexnayder, the pre-pharmacy sophomore at Xavier (class vice president, he was recently accepted to the COP) — but I didn’t have a “Smart Phone” and couldn’t access Xavier’s system! So after driving up and down the highway, I decided to gps churches or cemeteries. I put in Patterson Baptist Church (didn’t know if it was AFAM or not). A bit down the road was Patterson Protestant Cemetery. By looking at the expensively carved headstones and obliques, I made a quick guess that this was not a traditionally AFAM cemetery. But I did recognize one family name in Stephanie’s tree – “Muggah”. I figured these were her white relatives and snapped a few pics to e-mail to her. Giving up and heading back to my Hwy 90 route home, I noticed a street sign named Muggah, noted. I then saw ML King Drive – surely as in most cities it leads to a Black part of town – thus, an old black cemetery. Driving a few blocks I encountered a guy man on a bicycle: “I’m doing family research, can you tell me if there is a cemetery in this area?” I got the usual answer: “On the other side of the track.” I figured that was running parallel to Hwy 90, but didn’t want to go that far back to starting. So I stopped and asked a young girl – realizing that as she tried to respond, I could see that she was too young to know where the cemetery might be, let alone even care about some family search. She pointed to her older relatives in the yard. An older man came to the car and he said to turn around and I’d find the cemetery down the street around the curb. When I asked about the Schexnayder name, he said he’d never heard of ’em. But, sure enough as I rounded the curb on William Street, I came upon a tiny private cemetery that had just been surrounded by a new chain link fence – probably to stop folks from trampling on the old graves. There were no more that 10 places marked with either unmarked crypts or eroding concrete headstones. I recognized only one name – one Emma Washington, probably related to Sunday Washington of Houston (her mother is Emma Robertson Washington, dtr of Willie & Virgina Schexnayder Robertson). I took a few pics. (Stephanie later confirmed that there were several other relatives there “in the dirt.”). I noticed a local police care and decided, “ok, someone must have reported that there’s some crazy dude driving around Patterson and asking about graveyards. So, I took the “photographer’s” stance and pretended I was deeply involved with setting up a picture. lol. Thinking I’d had my fill and had run through my luck of finding some graves, I decided to head for home. Getting back in the care, lo and behold only a few yards on the opposite side of the street on William at Cuyther was a larger cemetery, crowded with old graves and a few trees and overgrown vines in between. Well maybe, just maybe, old Vilmore could be found here. The sign at the far edge said Patterson Memorial Cemetery, it had no fence. I pulled the car to the curb. As I approached of of the first few crypts “Hello” look who greeted me: Randolph Schexnayder Sr (1922-2003), a PFC WWII bronze plaque atop his crypt. (great grandson of Vilmore) I was getting warmer. By this time I was really running out of space on the photo card and had to delete certain pictures I might not miss from other events. There were so many crypts crowded together, there was no way I could get through them all. So I circled the perimeter and looked deep along the headstones either trying to recognize “Schexnayder” or paying attention to the several little American flags placed on U.S. veterans graves. Perhaps one on Vilmore’s. Making my way inside I stumbled upon one Joe Schexnayder (1911-1966), PFC Engineer Co. of WWII. It was several yards away from Randolph’s, but perhaps a brother. But even more noticeable were serveral Roberson graves surrounding him – including: Daniel Roberson (1865-1918); Minie Roberson (12/4/1869-5/24/1925); Herbert W. Roberson b. 8/5/1896, died at Camp Green, North Carolina 10/28/1918 (PVT Co. B 341 L.B.). I remembered the name associated with either Vilmore or his sister Virginia. These were relatives of Emma Robertson Washington buried across the street. (Speaking with Stephanie later, she said that McClellon and Dolly Schexnayder occupied a large crypt in the cemetery, I hadn’t run across it.) And so, having my fill of adventure for the day, I set the gps to “go home” and knew I was on my way when I saw the “Black Bear Crossing” sign on Highway 90.

    21 Apr 2013•Edit•Delete

     
    • Stephani

      November 21, 2013 at 4:03 am

      Thank you cuzzin, for your narrative on your adventure of Patterson, I wish that you could of met Rose/Raven during your adventure. You two would of got along very well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
